20saver


Birkenstocks: A frugal love story
April 7, 2008, 11:21 am
Filed under: Frugality

This post was included in the 120th Festival of Frugality carnival over at A Penny Saved.

Photobucket

Call me what you will, but I am a Birkenstock fanatic. I own a pair of clogs, a pair of sandals, and a pair of shoes by my beloved German shoe company. Now, I’m not one of those women who owns a million pairs of shoes and spends whole paychecks on shoe shopping sprees. I’m quite the opposite, in fact. I only own a few more pairs of shoes than my 3 pairs of Birkenstocks.

Why do I love Birkenstocks so much? Not only do I like the way they look, but they are also incredibly comfortable. They have a molded footbed that supports the arches of your feet and make you feel like you’re walking on a cloud, even when you’ve been standing on your feet for hours. For all the details of the benefits of their craftsmanship, check out their website. I think the number one reason I like them so much, though, is the fact that they are made with such quality. These shoes have lasted me longer than any other shoes I’ve ever owned.

You may be wondering, “But aren’t Birkenstocks expensive?” Initially, it may seem so, but when you configure the price of the shoes per how many years you own them, they are probably some of the least expensive shoes you can buy.

My sandals cost about $95. I got them for my 15 birthday, so they are almost 7 years old. $95/7= $13.57 a year.
My shoes cost about $175. I got them when I was 17, so they are almost 5 years old. $175/5= $35 a year.
My clogs cost about $200. I got them two Christmases ago, so they are about one and half years old. $200/1.5= $133.34 a year.

The greatest thing about these figures is the fact that I still wear these shoes and will continue to wear them for at least a few more years, bringing down the cost per year even further. They are still in great shape after all these years because they are such well made shoes. You’re lucky if you can buy a pair of flip flops for $14 and have them last through the season. Jake bought a pair of Vans last summer for $40 and they’re already worn out with holes in the soles- they didn’t even last a whole year.

Frugality isn’t always about simply getting cheap items; it’s about carefully choosing and purchasing quality items that stretch your dollars over the long term.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Sarah teaches you how to save by paying more: Birkenstocks: A frugal love story. […]

Pingback by Festival of Frugality #120 | A Penny Saved

And don’t forget that you can send them in to get resoled. Yet another way that these shoes are frugal and SO worth the money.

Comment by Nancy

Wonderful point, Nancy. I had completely forgotten that they do that!

Comment by Sarah

Hi, Birkenstock shoes are more than good for your feet and your health. As I’m living in Germany, the origin country of these lovely shoes, don’t hesitate to contact me as I have more than a hundred of these shoes in different sizes. So you might save a lot of money. Regards ! Lars

Comment by Lars




Leave a Reply

