20saver


Rainy day update
September 6, 2008, 4:40 pm
Filed under: Careers, Green, Uncategorized, Wedding

Tropical storm Hanna has been soaking Richmond since last night and it has recently gotten a bit windy here as well. I hope everyone has been safe and sound and continues to be while the storm passes through.

No big drug store or Kroger deals for me this week. Hopefully next week will be more enticing.

My job at the bookstore is now unstable. I am no longer officially on the schedule because they cannot afford to pay me to work as frequently as I was (which really wasn’t very frequent, usually about 2 or 3 days a week). The owner told me that I am still free to come in for 2 or 3 hours when I can in order to help them sell books online. They need to cut expenses in order to stay afloat and I guess I was first on the chopping block since I have another job to support myself with. I have wanted to quit working there for quite some time now because I don’t enjoy it there anymore and I feel my time is worth more than minimum wage, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. So I guess this can be considered an easy out.

Even though it wasn’t much, the extra money I got from working there definitely did help me out. I hope that I can will myself to go in at least once a week to help them so that I can get a few dollars, but I honestly don’t know if I will make myself go since I really don’t want to. I can probably make up for the money I’m losing by mystery shopping again and taking more online surveys and such, but there’s no doubt in my mind now that I really need this full time job I interviewed for recently. I lost my health insurance, the economy is crap, now it seems I’m losing my second job- if only desperation were an attractive quality employers looked for in potential employees.

I’ve been studying diligently for the GRE. I really hope to take it by the beginning of October. It looks like I’ll have more time on my hands now, so that goal seems more attainable. The verbal section is going smoothly, but the quantitative part is really making me sweat. Math wouldn’t be so difficult for me if I found it even remotely interesting.

Jake and I have decided on save the date cards and invitations. We are going to buy them from an invitation company that is dedicated to using earth friendly practices. I’ve been emailing back and forth with the owner about the design and I’m just loving her and her company to bits! I bought a vintage dress from an online store this past week. I’m not going to get too excited about it until it arrives and I can try it on. I haven’t told too many people about it because I’m waiting to see what it looks like on me. I’ve also been looking at vintage and earth friendly wedding bands. I found a band I like for myself, but Jake’s seems to be proving a bit more difficult, especially since we’re not sure of his exact ring size.

And so life is moving forward and dragging me along with it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

