20saver


Kicking myself
June 23, 2008, 7:07 pm
Filed under: Money Basics

Since Jake and I are moving in a week, we’ve been going through all of our CDs, DVDs, and books to pick out the ones we no longer watch, listen to, or read. We’ve come up with a sizable pile so far and I’ve gone through and put the ones that are worth the most up for sale on Amazon. We’ve already sold two DVD sets. We’re planning on selling the rest to a local used music and movie store. This extra money will be a great addition to our savings account, but I can’t help but think how much money we’ve wasted on insignificant things. Hindsight is 20/20, isn’t it?

Back in December, I got caught speeding on my way up to visit my family in Pennsylvania for Christmas. That $140 ticket wasn’t an easy thing to pay and now that lead foot has come back to haunt me in the form of my car insurance rate. My monthly payment is now going to be $16 more a month. I’ve shopped around a bit for a better rate, but other car insurance companies are either way more or are only a few dollars less a month. I don’t know if it’s worth the hassle to switch companies just for a few dollars savings a month. Also, I’m hoping that my current company will offer some sort of rate reduction if I continue to stay with them without any more violations. Honestly, I’m probably just going to wind up staying with my current company because I just don’t feel like dealing with this right now. Frugality would be so much easier if it coincided with laziness.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Next time you get a ticket try sending it to a traffic lawyer. It’s usually only like 80 dollars and they can almost always get the ticket dismissed so that theres no points on your license…which means no hike in your insurance rate. I’ve done it a few times now and only the most recent wasn’t dismissed completely (I still had to pay a fine, but there were no points on my license).

Comment by Hilary




Leave a Reply

