20saver


It pays to pay attention
June 4, 2008, 11:47 am
Filed under: Money Basics

I occasionally figure model for a local art museum that offers studio classes in order to pull in a bit of extra income. Back in February and March, I modeled three weeks in a row for a portrait class and then a few weeks later, I modeled for a painting class. The museum only sends out checks once a month, so I usually have to wait at least a few weeks to get my payment. In March, I received a check, but it was only for one of the classes so I assumed I would get paid for the other classes in April. April came and went and I only received payment for one more of the classes. Hmm… I guess I’ll get the rest of my money in May? May came and went and I didn’t receive any more checks.

I looked at the two checks more closely and realized that they had the class dates on them. The first check was for the first portrait class and the second check was for the painting class. So whatever happened to the two other portrait classes in the middle? I gave the museum a call about a dozen times and never got an answer, so I left messages. I never received a call back.

I finally called the portrait instructor to see if she had any idea what was going on. She was very apologetic and gave the museum a call the following day on my behalf (as well as offered me a few more modeling jobs this summer- yay!). It turns out the paperwork just never went through for the two portrait classes. The studio school resubmitted everything and I should be receiving my check by the end of next week.

If you do any kind of freelance work on the side, make sure to keep tabs on the number of times (and for how long) you worked so that you receive the right amount of payment. It can be very easy to lose track when you’ve got a lot going on, but it definitely pay$ to pay attention.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

