20saver


Vehicle registration renewal
May 28, 2008, 7:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I got a notice from the Virginia DMV stating that my car is up for renewal at the end of July. At first glance, this wasn’t really interesting, but I read some more of the letter and I discovered that the DMV will charge you an extra $5 for going to one of their centers to renew your registration. Virginia is passing a law in July that makes this possible in the hopes of cutting down on the amount of people who visit the DMV centers, saving time and money for everyone. You can renew your registration online, by phone, or by mail in order to avoid this extra fee. If you renew online, you get an extra $1 off your registration ($2 if you renew for two years).

I was going to renew online anyway, but now I’m thinking about renewing my registration online for two years so I can just get it out of the way and not have to worry about it every year. Also, it looks like there was a proposal to increase the registration fee by $10, so if I pay for two years, I could possibly avoid paying an extra $10 for the second year.

So, if I renew my vehicle registration online for two years, I will save the following:
$10 ($5 per year for renewing at a DMV center)
+$2 (incentive for renewing online)
+$10 (if the proposed registration increase passes legislation)
For a total of $22. Not too bad for paying for something that’s required by law.

I think it’s very interesting that the tendency to do things online is so strong that they are willing to penalize people who choose to do things the “old fashioned” way, i.e., in person. It certainly is a sign of the times.

Please keep in mind that this information is only relevant to Virginia residents.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

