20saver


Bakery outlet
May 20, 2008, 6:18 pm
Filed under: Food, Frugality

If you’re trying to cut down on your grocery bills, I highly recommend stopping by a bakery outlet to save a nice chunk of change.

I stumbled across my local Pepperidge Farm outlet/thrift store a few weeks ago when I was getting out of my car at a Rite Aid I frequent and just happened to looked across the street at a strip mall. At the time, I was in a hurry and couldn’t investigate, but I made sure I’d remember it the next time I was out that way.

I decided to stop in after work today since I wanted to pick up a few things at Rite Aid anyway. After visiting the drug store, I walked across the street and entered the store right when a nice old man was finishing up his transaction. There was a wall of bread, a wall of cookies, freezers on the back wall, and little displays with odds and ends in the center. It reminded me of the bakery outlet my mom used to drag me to from time to time when I was younger.

The items on sale at the bakery outlets are usually very close to expiring or have already expired. Usually the more expired an item is, the less expensive it costs. The dates on food (except for obviously perishable products) are quite arbitrary and are really nothing more than a way to protect a company in case anyone gets sick from or is disappointed with their products. You can always refrigerate or freeze food to make it last longer from an outlet if you’re really worried about it expiring.

While I was tempted to buy lots of Goldfish and sweets, I tried to stick to what we needed. I got a loaf of bread, a box of crackers, a package of English muffins, and a package of frozen garlic bread for a total of $7. My guess is that I got these items for at least half price. (Note to self: I need to remember to ask if they accept coupons.)

Since I live in a city, there are other bakery outlets in the area including Entenmann’s and Wonderbread/Hostess. While a combination of the three of these stores will surely offer a good amount of savings, they are a bit of a distance away. In order to really see the savings, I need to make sure that I don’t make the trip just to get a discounted loaf of bread- I need to plan on doing other errands around that area. Oh, and also, make sure I don’t buy tons of unnecessary sweets. 😛

To see if you have any bakery outlets/thrift stores near you, I recommend looking up “Bakeries” in your local yellow pages.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

