20saver


Graduation and our next apartment
May 12, 2008, 4:36 pm
Filed under: About me, College, Frugality

Hi again. I’m all rested up and ready to get back into the swing of blogging.

My college graduation went well, overall. Despite the rain, the ceremony was still held outside so everyone got muddy and soaked. I’m pretty sure my shoes are ruined from all the mud and I have to go get my silk dress dry cleaned again because of all the water stains and mud spots on it. I threw my graduation gown away once I got home because there was just so much mud down the back of it (because my shoes flung around mud with every step I took). I also had to throw away my cap because the cardboard got all warped from the rain and the fabric came unglued. Quality items, let me tell you. It was wonderful to see all my friends and professors again though and I really don’t regret deciding to walk with my class.

Jake and I had a tough decision to make this weekend, but we’ve finally decided on and secured our next apartment. Jake had gone and seen a house for rent while I was at work a few weeks ago and I had gone and seen an apartment for rent while he was at work last week. After reviewing our applications, the two landlords offered us the two places at about the same time.

The house is a few blocks away and, from what I can tell from the pictures, it’s adorable. 2 bedroom, washer and dryer, back yard, front and back porches, and dog friendly. $850 a month, plus an extra $200 security deposit as well as $10 extra a month for having a dog. No utilities included.

The apartment is the first floor of a duplex and is a mere block away. We can almost see it from the front of our current apartment building. It’s nice enough, but nothing spectacular. 2 bedroom, washer and dryer, back yard, front and back porches, and dog friendly. $750 a month. No extra deposit or monthly increase for having a dog. No utilities included.

Both landlords are super nice and seem to have their stuff together. We went for the apartment because $860 is slightly more than we feel comfortable paying for rent and we want to make sure that we’ll have enough money after rent and utilities are paid every month. If I get one of the full time positions I’ve been applying for lately, the house would be affordable, but we can’t rely on something that may not happen. When in doubt, choose frugal.

We’re really excited to move even though it won’t happen until the beginning of July. We’re probably going to be getting Jake’s parents’ sectional for the living room (since they don’t have room for it at their new place and our futon is on its last legs) and I’m going to keep my eye out for some cheap/free chairs and tables for the porches. Ah, the joys of moving.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay, that’s exciting! Be careful with a sectional though. I moved into the bottom of a duplex and all I could get down the stairs/past the door was a loveseat. Whatever you move down you have to be able to get back up. 😦

Comment by Teresa

Sorry, what I meant by bottom was first floor of the duplex. So we won’t have to move things down stairs, we’ll actually have to move things up stairs since the building is on an incline from the street and there’s a set of pretty steep steps outside. I’m pretty sure the doorways have nice clearings in front of them so we won’t have to worry about turning furniture around corners to get them through.

Comment by Sarah




Leave a Reply

