20saver


A renter’s plight over?
April 13, 2008, 9:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Jake and I visited the potential “apartment” this morning. I put apartment in quotes because the place is practically a house. From the outside, it doesn’t look very big nor exceptionally nice, but the inside looks great.

There’s a small front porch, a nice sized living room, a small dining room, a small bathroom, a nice sized kitchen, a washer and dryer, a small yard with a patio space, and two upstairs bedrooms (one is a loft, both are a nice size). There are three closets. Everything is new and the place was completely renovated less than a year ago.

It has everything we want and more. We’ve pretty much told her yes, but I’m wavering on two points: the price and the location.

She is asking $800 a month for it, but she said she’s willing to go down to $750. This price is a steal for what we’ll be getting. I’m just worried that we won’t be able to afford it, especially if I don’t get a full time job in the near future (I’ve recently applied for two positions and expect to be interviewed for both, but you never know). The only bill we’ll have to pay is the electric since rent will cover water, sewer, and trash. Heat, the hot water heater, and the stove are all electric so there won’t be a gas bill. She said the electric runs about $60 a month. On the money aspect, I think I’m just worried about nothing since it wouldn’t be all that much more than we’re paying now for our rent, electric, and gas bills. I could comfortably afford the increase now with my two part time jobs.

The location worries me more. It’s a rougher part of town that’s in the beginning stages of being revitalized. We’ll be near the corner of a pretty busy road where people like to loiter in front of all the vacant store fronts. The streets behind us have some slummy looking blocks. The woman who we would rent from said that while she lived there, she always felt safe and didn’t hesitate to call the cops if there was anything going on that she didn’t like. The place has an alarm system and outside lights on motion detectors. There aren’t that many people who will actually be living near us since it’s a pretty commercial area, so that’s a semi-positive aspect as far as safety goes. My dad lives a few blocks away and while I was living with him for a few years, I never felt like I was in danger, so maybe this is another overreaction.

She’s willing to hold the apartment/house for us for $200 a month. We would only have to pay this for two months and are allowed to move in our things during that time. The security deposit is only $600 and she isn’t charging us any extra for having a dog. If we rented from a rental agency, we’d be looking at an extra, nonrefundable $100-300 deposit for having a dog, plus an additional $50 (about) a month.

I’m 80% sure we’re going to go for it, if only for the simple reason that I don’t want to keep on apartment hunting. I would rather go for this place than continue to go through the painful process of looking for and being disappointed by other places. Plus, I feel like we could stay in this apartment/house for multiple years since I highly doubt we’ll outgrow it and, if we decide to get any more pets, we won’t have to pay extra for them or worry about hiding them from the landlord.

I just can’t help but feel that this all might be too good to be true, you know?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

