20saver


Money Book for the Young, Fabulous & Broke: Wrap Up
April 10, 2008, 11:29 am
Filed under: Books | Tags: ,

Over the course of reading and posting about The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous & Broke, I learned quite a bit about the basics of personal finance and how they affect my life as a 20something. Even though I did not have prior experience with some of the topics (investing, buying a home), I now have the foundation to take on those situations with more confidence. I hope that you have found Suze Orman’s advice has helpful as I did.

Here is a list of all of my posts on the Money Book for YF&B:
Chapter 1: Know the Score
Chapter 2: Career Moves
Chapter 3: Give Yourself Credit
Chapter 4: Making the Grade on Student Debt
Chapter 5: Save Up
Chapter 6: Retirement Rules
Chapter 7: Investing Made Easy
Chapter 8: Big Ticket Purchase: Car
Chapter 9: Big Ticket Purchase: Home
Chapter 10: Love & Money

I would also like to point out that Orman has a section of her website, www.suzeorman.com, dedicated to this book. You will need the code and password found on page 17 to access the information (I don’t feel comfortable posting them here as it might violate some laws or rules, but if you need to, grab a copy from the bookstore or library and jot down the info before putting it back on the shelf). She includes an Action Planner on her site where you enter in information about your finances and she sets up a personalized financial action plan for you in order of urgency. There are also calculators that compute compound interest, how many years you can shave off your debts if you make extra payments, etc as well as helpful links and updated information. Definitely a worthwhile look if you liked Orman’s book.

I think I will take a short break before deciding on and digging into the next book. I’m considering a few titles that are geared toward college students. I might take on a documentary before a book though. I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, I’m going to finish up the eleventh book in Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and possibly take on the twelfth. I’ve got to let my brain rest after such serious reading, haha.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

