20saver


Credit report check up
April 9, 2008, 8:13 pm
Filed under: Money Basics

Last night, I took Suze Orman’s advice and visited Experian and TransUnion’s websites to give my credit reports a once over. I didn’t request my Equifax report since I get two free reports and scores a year from Equifax through my credit card credit protection service. I’m going to send in my request for my second free Equifax report and credit score as soon as I buy some more stamps.

Experian was as expected. All of my accounts (mostly student loans) were included and accurate.

TransUnion gave me a little jolt though. They included a public records section and I saw documentation of an incident I had completely forgotten about.

To make a very long story shorter, for some reason, when I was a teenager, all of my health insurance claims were being sent to the wrong insurance company and, of course, were being denied. My mom and I had no idea that this was going on since we never received any letters about it. Until, that is, I had to get an MRI. Naturally, the MRI was denied and we finally did receive a notice about it months later, asking us to pay the MRI center over a thousand dollars. That’s when we discovered what was happening and had all of my past claims rerouted to the correct insurance company. While I was in college, I received a letter from the court back home regarding this $1k+ past due amount. The MRI company was suing me. I called my mom and she said that she did/would take care of it. There was no way I could appear in court since I was six hours away at college. As far as I know, everything was covered by the insurance company.

I never dreamed this whole thing would show up years later on my credit report. Now, I don’t know what to do about it. It’s only showing up on one of my credit reports, but it’s something very negative and could affect my credit score. I don’t even know if it should be on my report to begin with since it was the fault of the insurance companies and I was a minor at the time. Not to mention the fact that I don’t even think the court hearing ever actually occurred.

Looks like it’s time to call my mom and pick her brain on what happened and what I should do.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow, talk about a rough situation, still it’s good that you were able to uncover it rather than remaining ignorant of the fact. Fortunately I think you do have some options, namely, dispute the negative item with the credit bureau. Unfortunately I haven’t written a guide yet on the exact how-to’s of this, but you’ll find plenty of resources online if you dig around. TransUnion lets you dispute negative items online, I believe, at http://www.transunion.com/corporate/personal/creditDisputes.page

Comment by Greg Vandagriff




Leave a Reply

