20saver


Friday night deals
March 14, 2008, 8:26 pm
Filed under: CVS, Deals, Kroger

Photobucket

Kroger had a deal on General Mills products this week and thank goodness they did! My fiance bought a gallon of milk a few days ago and we definitely needed some cereal to help us use it all up before it expires. The items were 4 for $6, which is a steal by itself, but of course I used some coupons and made it even better. I had to break it up into two transactions since they were only allowing the extra savings once per transaction. 

1 box of Cheerios
2 boxes of Honey Nut Cheerios
1 box of Curves cereal
1 box of Fiber One cereal
2 boxes of Nature Valley bars
1 box of Curves granola bars

Coupons: 
$1 off 3 General Mills cereals
$.70 off Fiber One cereal
$.75 off Curves cereal
$.75 off 2 Nature Valley bars
$.50 off Curves granola bars which was doubled.

I paid $8.29 total which figures out to $1.04 a box! My receipts tell me I saved $14.82.

CVS went pretty well. I guess I miscalculated though, since I wound up paying $2.59 out of pocket instead of a couple of cents. The reason was that I had a ECB for $2.99 and the cashier told me the register wouldn’t take it since it was more than the amount owed. I really wish I would have figured it out better before getting up to the register so I could have bought another little bag of mini eggs to bring my total up high enough. Oh well, I’ll just add it to the experience pile.

1 Garnier Fructis shampoo $2.99, minus $1 coupon
1 Colgate Total Advanced $2.99, minus $.75 coupon
1 Lypsyl lip balm $2.99
1 CVS Acetaminophen $3.69, minus my free CVS acetaminophen coupon (which the cashier rang up as $3.99)
1 bag of Cadbury mini eggs for filler, $.65

Minus $5 ECB

I got back a total of $7.98 in ECB PLUS I got my $10 ECB for taking a survey for CVS Advisor Panel. That $10 more than makes up for the fact that I paid a few dollars more than I wanted tonight 🙂 .

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great job! I get confused with the Extra bucks sometimes because it also takes off some tax in my state. So far I haven’t had any big problems though. I don’t mind paying a few $$ in real money to CVS since I get so many other things for free.

Comment by Heidi

Thanks! Yeah, I’m definitely not complaining considering I couldn’t even have gotten the lip balm for how much I paid for all of it.

Comment by Sarah

Great job.
Very impressive.
Keep up the good work.

Comment by candace

Candace, it really looks like you’re tearing it up as well, according to your budget for March. And that includes diapers!

Comment by Sarah

Great deal girl!
Nichole
http://blog.handmadebycole.com/

Comment by Nichole

Aw, cute site, Nichole. I didn’t know about the Maybelline lip deal at CVS this coming week- thanks for the heads up!

Comment by Sarah




Leave a Reply

