20saver


20something life and personal finance books
March 14, 2008, 2:20 pm
Filed under: 20something, Books | Tags: ,

I am an avid reader by nature and usually devour novels. Lately though, I have become more attracted to nonfiction books. This is very odd for me since I’ve very rarely picked up nonfiction books in the past for pleasure. I’m chalking it up to the fact that I’m getting older, fitting into an adult role, and I need answers to real life questions. Plus, I’ve been out of school for a little while now and I think the stigma that I’ve had against nonfiction (for being connected to stress and school work) seems to be fading by the minute.

I am currently reading Suze Orman’s The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous & Broke. I’m only a few chapters into it, but I’m already liking it a great deal. She has a wonderful insight into 20somethings’ real life financial situations and manages to offer viable solutions without taking on a condescending or holier than thou tone. While I’ve been reading, I’ve noticed that I’ve already considered writing blog postings about many of the topics she covers. This overlap got me thinking.

Why not write book reviews on personal finance/self help books that are either written specifically for or whose material largely applies to 20somethings? Mixed in with these book reviews will be my commentary and personal anecdotes. I am also considering reviewing a few documentaries.

I would absolutely love for my readers to be involved with these reviews. I will announce which book I’m reading (or movie I’m watching) in advance so you can pick it up at a library or bookstore. This is definitely not a requirement, as I’ll summarize the book enough so that readers who aren’t reading along will understand the topics and arguments. I really would enjoy an active discussion including readers’ personal experiences and goals.

With the Money Book for the YF&B, I’m going to write one post per chapter. The first post will be on credit scores and credit reports. I’m really looking forward to writing up my reviews!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

